Driver of the Year Award

Each year from 2008 to 2018 a “Midwest Speed Driver of the Year” Award was presented in memory of Cindy L. Young. Cindy was the Mother of Midwest Speed Expo organizer Terry Young. She passed away in 2007 after a battle with lung cancer.

The previous winners of the award are as follows:
2008 Dennis Erb
2009 Justin Allgaier and Jeff Leka (Dual Awards Presented)
2010 Jason Feger
2011 Jeff Herzog
2012 Mike Harrison
2013 Brian Shirley and Devin Gilpin (Dual Awards Presented)
2014 Brandon Sheppard
2015 Bobby Pierce
2016 Jose Parga
2017 Bobby Pierce and Mike Harrison (Dual Awards Presented)
2018 Brandon Sheppard and Tim Hancock (Dual Awards Presented)

Additionally, a new tradition was established in 2014 whereby from time to time special awards are presented in memory of fallen friends of the Midwest Speed Expo in honor of the recipients outstanding achievement. These are not annual awards.

2014 Dean Garland Memorial Award presented to Aaron Heck
2014 Rusty Allen Memorial Award presented to Bobby Pierce

2015 Gary Walters Memorial Award presented to Shannon Babb

2016 John Osman and Ray Goodall Memorial Award to Nick Bauman
2016 IRONMAN Award for Outstanding Achievement to Bobby Pierce

2017 John Ciccone Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement to Tim Hancock
2017 Don Hughes Memorial IRONMAN Award for Outstanding Achievement to A.J. May
2017 Jim Farley, Sr. and John Sidener Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement to Jeremy Reed